top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

1.2 Assignment I - Introducing Myself

Updated: Jan 5, 2021


In this assignment I had to design 3 postcards describing myself, my work practices, my interests, inspiration and cultural experience in graphic design.

I chose a series of 3 photos which describe the main three interests in my life - travel, healthy food and yoga. All three with much deeper expression and composition to include other important elements in my life, such as nature, imagination, design, art etc.

I decorated the pictures with a tribal pattern that I found from a tribe called Hmong People. The decoration was made by hand and has an intended structure to keep the series in a specific order and flow.



I always look for inspiring patterns from different tribes ancient cultures and foreign practices
Hmong Pendant — Finely engraved mid-20th Century silver Hmong hill tribe "Spirit Lock" pendant. I always look for inspiring patterns from different tribes ancient cultures and foreign practices






The picture on the left is me, painting a "wold of my own" with food, the colours are light and the picture plays an important role of introducing my world before everything else.







The middle picture is me, in the nature of Bali (where I have found my base over the last couple of years), doing yoga - which became my lifestyle, and finding balance between earth, sky, water and land. Yoga and authentic teachings fascinate me in all aspects, and influence the way I travel, eat and my design finger print.

The colours in this picture are bright on the left, and on the right side the colours are more green and darker -which flows onto the next picture.






The last picture is me in a local tribal ceremony in Sumba, a remote island in Indonesia that maintains authentic tribal art and culture. I travel as far as I can to see and feel whatever is foreign to me.

I find it interesting when I arrive to a place so remote, the roles are changing and I become the interesting "tribe" to the local people as much as they are to me. I also love communicating with kids, they are pure and free of suffering and when you play with them you become more present and more pure.

The colours are deeper and stronger and represent a deeper aspect about my personality and passion.




At the back of each photo there is a description, stained by coffee.

Coffee is a big part of my life, I grew up in a house of coffee drinkers and it is a big part of my daily routine. Coffee to me, became a ceremonial activity, exactly how the Japanese make their tea.









28 views0 comments
bottom of page