top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

2.3 Exercise: Visualising your ideas


Updated: Jan 5, 2021

What am I being asked to do?

Design a leaflet for an organisation, inviting people to to volunteer for a task.

Working with a sheet of A4 paper or larger, exploring paper folding of a leaflet.

attract new people to pick up the leaflet.

What are the Keywords for the design

attract new people

volunteer for a task

make people want to pick up

creative

playful

Which Organization I chose

I chose to make a leaflet for a non profit organisation for the ocean and nature.

http://www.montereybayaquarium.org

Who are the Target audeince

new people who don’t know about this organisation, and care about nature and the ocean.

can be surfers, travellers, divers, nature lovers, ocean lovers, eco people.

What message do I want to pass

make people to feel related to the water and the fact it needs to be saved

How will the audience receive the message

in Cafes and healthy restaurants, surf and dive shops, in sports centres near the beach, in galleries that are ocean and nature related.

Must Include

  • -title

  • four chunks each of about 120 words

  • leave space for contact and address details

  • a mockup

Primary Research

  • learn about paper folding

  • learn about graphic design paper folding. maybe learn about origami and create ideas

  • make sure I know what is leaflet exactly and check for important information about it, different formats..

  • check types of paper, maybe natural one, recycled.

  • learn about the organisation I chose and it’s aim and theme

  • how other people solved similar problems

Secondary Research

  • learn about paper folding

I’ve searched about paper folding and the creative ways to create a folded leaflet that will attract attention. This is a mood board I’ve created on pinterest.



  • learn about graphic design paper folding. maybe learn about origami and create ideas

Just as in any form of design - such as Architecture, Fashion and Product design, Origami plays important role. In order to create an eye catching design, you meed to go out of the box and think about a creative way that sometimes is not obvious or even belongs to a whole different time and space. Origami is an ancient Japanese form of art, used for ceremonial purposes and also attached to presents as greeting cards. In Europe it was used for napkin folding, and in china used for funerals. Then passed later on to the rest of the world.

Paul Jackson is a known artist in this field, he use origami for art, design and inspiration. This is some of his work that I’ve collected for my inspiration.



  • make sure I know what is leaflet exactly and check for important information about it, different formats..

I was reading online some articles about leaflet design and the “anatomy” of a good leaflet. The main dots are - Attention, Interest, Desire, Action.

I also learnt there are most commonly 2 formats of a leaflet which are an accordion, or a brochure. I chose to use the accordion since it gives me more freedom for creativity and shapes.

I also learnt about an eye catching title, colours, imagery, white spaces etc.

  • check types of paper, maybe natural one, recycled.

I want to show to the audience firstly that the organisation is eco-friendly and has to do with nature and sustainability. Moreover I want to give them a feeling of wellbeing and connect them with the target,

This is why I chose - 70 lb. Uncoated, 100% recycled Text.

  • learn about the organisation I chose and it’s aim and theme

  • how other people solved similar problems

I looked for some other vonateering leaflets online, I saw some really unattractive ones like in the link below

Some others I liked, but the folding wasn’t interesting enough.

I knew I had to think out of the box.

These are the other Ideas I found on pinterest and google -




My design ideas :

I was thinking about making an accordion of a seahorse, a mermaid, a wave, a shell or a starfish.

The final two that I liked were a Shell or a Wave.

The shell Idea was to create something inspired by this leaflet and the ceramic plates



But I thought that the wave was the most eye catching and would drift my audience into picking up this special leaflet.


More then that, from a short research I did on the organization, I liked one of their titles which was - “BE AN OCEAN HERO”. It attracted my attention straight away, and I can relate myself to a potential audience in this case.

I decided to have this title on the front of the leaflet.

For me, every time when I see in my eyes plastic inside the ocean, or villages which had been influenced by an earthquake, or a very ill person who needs help - only when I see the photos or videos of it - it speaks straight to my compassion and kindness sections inside my brain. So I thought it was crucial to show the ocean full of plastic and animal eating from it or swimming next to it - but at the same time show photos of clear ocean and beautiful utopia. Those two contrasts, in my eyes, would make people take an action.


Usually, people look first on the front and back of a folded leaflet, so I wanted to show one side of a beautiful clean wave, and then on the other one - a dirty wave, full of plastic, and with a human surfing inside of it. Straight away if you spend time in the ocean it will speak to your compassion and would horrify you. Moreover using the world “help” and “save” kick in the viewer alertness.


Front Leaflet Mockup - "Be an ocean hero"

Back Leaflet Mockup


The next fold - has to waves back to back -

I had to sides - one shows a turtle swimming in the ocean and reaching out to eat a plastic bag, and with the text “Let’s take action today before its too late” - what drones the viewer indside and keeps him interested in reading more.

The other side is the contact side, shows the viewer “my aim” and to keep in mind he has an “address” to reach out in order to take action.




Then the last fold is when all four waves are open - giving me enough space to put on 4 chunks of text of 120 words each.





 

REFLECTION

This exercise was really fun and really interesting. Firstly now I know how to read a brief and I know better what I am expected to show here as my process.

I enjoyed so much to think about a shape of cutting anf folding the leaflet and also to get better at making my own 'mockup'.

I really see how my skills are getting better!

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page