top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

3.1 Exercise: A visual diary

Updated: Jan 5, 2021

Since I was a little child I liked collecting all sorts of visual inspirations. From pictures in magazines, present wraps, and even had a massive collection of clothing hang tags.

I have an obsession of collecting things, which I try to fight, so when Pinterest came into this world I was probably the happiest person. That way I could save everything I love in boards and I can have them saved - Food, Design, Visual Design, DIY, etc.

When I started this degree I started a board of everything visual I love, so by now I have a lot of inspiration saved.

Here is this board, I will present examples taken from the board below, all references are found on Pinterest and show inside the pinterest board -



I can defiantly tell there is something in me that is attracted for:


1. Big Psychedelic Mess - a part of me having such a massive imaginary world running through my head constantly, I am very attracted to visual designs which have a lot of colors, a beautiful mess, or having some imagery brought details or things that in the real world just don’t make any sense.


2. Clean and Minimalistic - because most of my life I was more into what I’ve called a “Big Psychedelic Mess”, For me getting out of my comfort zone - is simplicity. I think is was also my sister’s influence since she’s very stylish and her style in visual liking was always simple clean and beautiful. So I love getting out of my comfort zone and just asking myself what can I dismiss from my design, what is really necessary and essential for it.


3. Different Cultures - To sharpen what I explained on the above, I can say that there is something in me that love tribal graphics, which usually have a lot of details. For example - Indonesian Patterns, Mayan, Indian, Yemen, every tribe I stumble across have a lot of details which creates such a harmony and a story. But also there is another part of me who loves the simplicity and cleanness of cultures like Japanese and Scandinavian, there is something very mysterious in there. I’m thirsty to see more and be inspired by more and more cultures. Not only in visual design but also in food, crafts, views and smells - They inspire me.

More then all I think I like to experiment with making ethnic and detailed design minimalist, or making a neat design a bit more messy.


4. Photography - I love photography. Travel, food, lifestyle, art, fashion etc. I love to follow interesting photographers from all kinds and being inspired by their unique styles - it can be romantic, or sexy, rustic or soft, crazy or simple, everything beautiful.


5. Photomontage - I’ve noticed I love photo montages, which I didn’t know I actually do before I started collecting visual inspiration into this board. I love ones which create a certain mood, usually romantic, or ones that make nonsense, but still tell a story using real photos combined with nature, the universe or galaxy.


6. Illustration / Graphic on Photography - I’ve realised as well that I love collection photographs that have illustrations on them. It’s like a cool edgy addition to the initial photo. I did it when I started my first travel guide using an iPad and with my finger and very backward apps I used a pen to draw things over background and other things I placed on with layers. You can see it in this link -



7. Artwork with Typography - I’ve noticed as well that I love to see a but typeface as the main object of the design and then some artwork drawn on top.



8. Mood Boards - I love to see how designers are breaking down their work into inspiration colours mood etc. I love collecting those.


9. Eras - I think every era has its own magic, I was certain for years that I didn’t like the 80s and 90s but when I did a shoot (as a model I see my work as my art) inspired by “High End 90’s” I did my homework and fell in love with the high end side of it. So from renaissance to every stage of 1900-200 and through our time now, even if you go back as far as the prehistorical times and to caveman - I can be inspired from it as well.


10. Paintings and hand crafts - as I spoke before about ancient times that inspire me, of course the renaissance and caveman times weren’t photographed, so when I look at things that inspire me on these eras, I’m looking at pantings and hand crafts. not only in old tomes but also nowadays.


11. Book and Magazine design - I’ve collected quite a bit of magazine and book design since I do it for few years now. I love very minimalistic style magazine and book design. If it is a notebook or diary design I love some hand drawn and watercolour use.


12. Rude and Rebel - I’ve noticed my visual preference is quite rude, and rebel like. It is certainly a motive that I can see in most of my board. Very sexy or anti society messages. Demanding freedom and peace.


13. Femininity - I also found that I have a lot of visuals related to femininity. I love the female body, the empowering and revolution women are going through in the world.




8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page