top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

4.2.3 Exercise: Playing with words

Updated: Jan 6, 2021


Snowy

Font - Billie Harley

Placed in different areas, and different sizes, to emphasize snow falling.

added a light blue background to look like a snowy background (represents ice, blue sky)

added dots of snow in different sizes and areas, to emphasize snow falling.

Snowy means when something is full of snow as well, so I wanted to show all the snow is collected together on the ground, added by brushes.


Sodden

Sodden means soggy or soaked. I wanted to create a feeling of a soaked typeface.

Font - IM FELL DW Pica SC - Bold, Size 150 pt. minimized the distance between letters to -150 to create a more soaked and swollen feeling.

Added drops by brushes.

Colour light blue = water.


Soothing

Font - "Holland" size - 150, colour white added a slant

position - top right

Background Colour - purple

white and purple give a sense of serenity - which is soothing.


Sordid

Sordid is usually apply to something corrupted, dirty or shady. So I wanted to create a feeling of something unknown ... "between the lines"... or behind the scenes.

Font - "Ultravog Glitch" size - 150 pt



I played with some filters - added a light bokeh and a grain.

Sordid is usually applied to something corrupted, dirty or shady. So I wanted to create a feeling of something unknown ... "between the lines"... or behind the scenes.


Sophisticated

Font - Didot size - 80 pt with a slant

flipped the i and made it a mirror-like look.


Speed

Red means power, and I wanted to emphasis the power of speed and being fast.

I chose the font "Triester Sans" size 70pt since it reminds me of a font of power and sport. I gave it a slant to emphasize the speed better and added 3 lines before the word.

I played with the filter of motion blur, gave the front lines less blur and the first 2 letters "sp" a bit more" and finally the end of the word "eed" even more blur.

Red means power, and I wanted to emphasize the power of speed and being fast.


Squat

Font - "Covered By Your Grace" size 150pt

I wanted to make the shape of a squatting stick man, so I doubled the T to make it look like legs. and gave the back leg a gray color.


Squeeze

font "Architects Daughter" size 70 pt. space between letters -100.

played around with the angle of it so it's round.

Added and drew an orange and an orange squeezer.


Stiff

font "Mesquite Std" size 400 pt

I chose this font to create a feeling of stiffness, added another layer of the same size font in the same place, and played with the filter of box blur to give it a faded sensation of the same brown "rusty" color. chose to paint the background with black color to give it more of a feeling of stiffness.



Stodgy

heavy and hard to digest I chose shades of brown, also heavy I wanted to emphesize by a stack of words typeface. I used the font "Blackoak Std" in different sizes and angles.



Stoned

I wanted the letters to look like a smoke off a joint - I have used the font "Chalkduster" in different sizes, and angles.

I added brushes os "smoke" around them and a drawing of a lit joint.


Style

when it comes to Style I like to keep it clean and minimalistic, I have used the font "LouiseWalker" which is very stylish in my eyes, and size 100 pt. I think that when something is stylish it says it all and you don't need to over-do it. I chose the color light orange, since its very light and calming. I would have used a slant usually for something stylish, but this font has a cool natural slant to it so I didn't want to over-do it.


Supine

font - "Indie Flower" size 100 pt

laying on it's back face up.

blue- lazy, dreamy




Swagger

I wanted to create something that will highlight the word Swagger. I decided to use black background and yellow typeface (swagger is someone that is full of himself or arrogant so black and yellow are the danger colors in nature).

I chose the font "Triester" since it is a very cool font in my eyes.

put it on an angle with 200 pt in size.

Then I started playing with the filters, gave it some solarize to give it a nicer yellow color.

Then I gave it an emboss but wasn't sure if I like it

I kept playing with filters and tried "Dust and scratches".

I preferred this filter better.



Sweet

i chose to play with shades of pink and purple.

I chose the font "Swanky and Moo Moo" size 120 pt with a slant.

I created a shape of a candy, and painted the big round shape with a brush.

Then I played with filters on the typeface, I've used "Oil Paint" to give it a sweeter touch.




 

REFLECTION

This exercise was actually a lot of fun, but also very challenging at times.

I liked to use the different tools colors placements and even drawing, using brushes and different effects to emphasise the definitions of the words. It was a very creative process and also time consuming but paid off to see it all done.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page