top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

5.5.1 - Exercise: Poster and flyer | Part 1

Updated: Jul 26, 2020

The Brief

This exercise is about how you deal with two different spaces to work in. You have been asked to design an

A3 poster

and an accompanying double sided A6 flyer

to promote a singing course run by an organisation called SingOut (all one word).


They have very little money so want to print these posters on their black and white photocopier.

You can use a colour paper if you want.

You may want to include an image such as a drawing or photograph,

but be very careful with photos as they tend not to reproduce well on a photocopier particularly if they are colour photos.

You will need to check by printing off your design and/or photocopying it.

The information they want to give is:

  • Do you love to sing?

  • Join us for an exciting opportunity during the day with a professional vocal coach.

  • Learn to sing different types of music, vocal techniques, meet new people and have fun!

  • 10.30 to 12.00 every Tuesday from 11 March

  • The Community Centre, Charlotte Church Road

  • £60 for the course

  • No experience needed/no requirement to read music

  • For more information call 011779 8765432 www.singout.com

The first thing you need to do is work out if you have all the information you need to fulfill the brief. If not what is missing?


Work out the hierarchy of the information.

How will you divide your information up to fit on both sides of your flyer?

How will you link the design for the poster with that of the flyer?

How can you make the poster eyecatching and effective with such a limited palette?

Which typeface or faces will you use and why have you made that decision?

When you have finished pin your poster up and critique your work.

What do you think?

Keep notes and sketches in your learning log.


 

Medium -

A3 Poster

A6 Flyer


Aim -

promote a singing course

run by an organisation called SingOut


Print Method-

these posters on their black and white photocopier.


Paper -

could be color paper


The first thing you need to do is work out if you have all the information you need to fulfill the brief. If not what is missing?

Fist of all I wanted to check who is my audience, which is crucial, if my audience is youth, them I need to work design for young people if it is adults, I need to have a different strategy (I know it is not for kids since it says on the details "meet new people"). So I started by looking to see if this organization is actually real. I have found an organization called Sing-Out which is based in NY and therefore understood it is not the case, and probably the missing information was initially - The audience.

I do know my audience is interested in learning or improving their singing thechnices though, so I focused on that.



Another thing which is missing in my eyes is the title of Sing out and a singing course!!!



Work out the hierarchy of the information.


How will you divide your information up to fit on both sides of your flyer?


How will you link the design for the poster with that of the flyer?


How can you make the poster eyecatching and effective with such a limited palette?


Which typeface or faces will you use and why have you made that decision?



 


Research

Courses I did on skillshare for this exercise


I wanted to start thinking in black and white and actually take advantage of my limited palette in this task. so I have created a Black and White mood board on Pinterest



Articles read



Google search for singing courses poster design

Which actually let me down and I was really not inspired by the designs I have found



Some ideas of Jazz festivals posters




Sketching and brainstorming

I wanted to start by developing my poster and from there design my flyer, which is technically more complex. I wanted to purely make a design that works and then shifting my design into the flyer canvas will be easier.



ideas -

  • Music Keys

  • singing birds

  • only microphone

  • a mouth of a woman sings and the text comes out of it

  • 2 people singing together having fun

  • one singing having fun


I was wondering what media will be best to work on, and I thought why won't I take an image, and work it to be black and white, maybe even ink-like texture, something that I would be able to take advantage of the cheap print choice and that it will only give is more character.







 

Here is where things got a little bit out of my hands.

I was trying lots of different things, pictures, ideas, compositions...

and used this tutorial to learn how to make my images to seem more ink looking (even tho I have used it in a different way at the end)

I have used Canva stock images for free images of people singing, microphones etc.


I took some screenshots and videos to show how I did my try and error stage, and it was longer than usual, and most of it didn't really work for me,

I will continue with final processes and designs on the next post.





3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page