top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

5.7.2 - Exercise: The French Hen | Part 2 - Mockups

Updated: Jan 8, 2021

Newton and Ridley, the brewers best known for their pub, The Rovers Return, are opening a cafe/wine bar nearer the city centre.

The bar is designed to appeal to younger women and sophisticated young men.

The brewery has identified a gap in the market and wants to provide a ’sophisticated and relaxed’ venue for the ‘discerning’ drinker. (audience)


This bar is to be called the French Hen and will be in direct competition with the cheap ‘binge drinking’ venues on the same street.

The brewery is also trying to enhance its own image as a ‘respectable’ alcohol vendor.


They want you to develop some ideas for a logo, to be used:

• on covers for the food and cocktail menus • in colour on the signage outside, and as a cutout for a window detail • on T-shirts for the staff and paper napkins • for one side of a beermat, the other will carry advice on sensible drinking. There are many conventions that have been developed around the marketing of both bars and products to this age range. You need to be conscious the whole time of avoiding clichés and stereotyping. Draw up at least three ideas to start with.

Be critical of your work.

Check it against the information you have here.

Will it do what the client wantsand how will you know? When you have decided which one you are happiest with,

  • mock up the menu covers,

  • the outside sign,

  • the window detail,

  • a T-shirt,

  • paper napkin

  • and beermat.

Does it all still work?

 

For this part of the task, I have done this amazing and interesting course for mockups


along with few tutorials -


I have really learnt how to create mockups from scratch and use the layers, blending modes, layers style, free transform - distort, perspective, warp...

And I was sharpening my work with tools such as blur tool, healing brush, magnetic lasso, filters


I have used those websites for free images -



Images though-out the process





FINAL MOCKUPS


Menu Covers Mock Up



Outside Sign Mock Ups



Window Detail Mock Ups



Staff T-shirt and uniform Mockup


Paper Napkin Mockup



Beermat Mockup




 

REFLECTION

Again I've been taking a lot of Skillshare courses, and it helped me to get better and better with a better understanding of branding, logos, and a lot of other graphic and technical skills like typography, layout, drawing on illustrator, creating my own mockups (which I also got almost addicted to), playing with colors and so much more.

Unfortunately, my own camera gear was still in Bali because of Covid, and I had to use stock images but I can't wait to get my own camera gear back and use it with making my own mockups from scratch.

I also used to work in nightlife and I have a great love for everything in the food and drink industry regarding to branding so it was even more fun to work on this project in contrary to the previous one which made me go to a completely new and foreign realm.

15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page