top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

CBD | P4 | EX1: Paper/ephemera

Updated: Jul 6, 2022

To begin: Collect a wide variety of paper samples and other paper ephemera across a range of weights, textures and surface finishes. This builds on your previous paper sample exercise from Part Two. Aim to collect a wide range of unprinted papers, such as blotting paper, tracing paper, lined paper, graph paper, rice paper and handmade papers. Look out for papers with special print finishes – metallic, embossed, shiny and matt. Aim to collect paper that is light as a feather and heavier, more dense, paper. Collect papers that will run through a conventional desktop printer, or indeed the print output options you have available to you – this may include board.


In addition, collect paper ephemera that you find interesting or that appeals to you in some way. This may include tickets, flyers and similar printed material or mementos or souvenirs of exhibitions, occasions and days out. Create a stack of these papers for use in your next few exercises.


In your learning log, document some of these papers and their attributes. Use a reflective approach and simple, descriptive words. For example, it may be that a heavy, coarse coloured paper reminds you of primary school, or the particular smell and shine of a paper puts you in mind of glossy magazines, or the fish and chip shop. Document these associations, however bizarre, into your learning log and/or ongoing paper sample book – you may revisit the words and phrases you use here later on in this process.



 


I was looking all around my parents home for any piece of paper I could find, I have found some plain normal paper and also some printed and ephemera paper, a magazine, a newspaper, envelopes, cards etc.



a normal lined notebook, the paper reminds me of primary school when we used to use small notebooks just like this one.

a slightly thicker paper but still a lined notebook, this time spiral. My mother always used to get these notebooks from brands as she is a famous dietitian and also write for magazines so brands of food and supplements always wanted to give her these branded ones. We used to play with them and draw as little girls (my sister and I).

a yellow paper block paper. I loved these and used to use them in high-school for some tasks. I always will have a place in my heart for these paper blocks.

a normal A4 paper. reminds me of printers and the smell of fresh ink.

tracing paper, I used to use these a lot when I sewed and made patterns. I also used to trace drawings as a young girl as I never thought I am good at drawing myself.

A slightly thicker paper with lines, my mother always used to use these for client's memos. It reminds me of old-school therapy.


Ephemera

Magazine paper, I always love a magazine paper as it has a nice smell and a glossy chic look.

A newspaper paper. a thin paper, in Israel the print always contain more color than abroad.

Just some kind of paper I have found, it is thin, feels less natural (slick coating), very good for flyers.

I really love this paper I have found, it seems like it is some kind of a wrapping paper, very fragile, and very thin, doesn't have a coating.

a lot of postcards, always have coating on them, very thick so they can survive a long travel in the post.

Polaroid notes, it is very thick, probably a proper polaroid paper. It gives me a vintage connotation.

Some kind of flyer paper, it is very thin and coated.

both of these are very nice natural paper, the bigger paper on the right has also a linen feeling, and it is more rough than the other one on the left, also thicker.

Wishes Cards paper, thick and coated. Reminds me of birthdays and holidays.

Really cool stickers, the big one on the left also has a bumped golden lines.

envelopes, feels like folded printer paper.

Big cards and small one, doesn't have a coating like the cards above, feels more matt.

a wish paper, but very thin one.

A cheap business card I've found, the paper is very thin (in compare to other business cards).



I have found also few more interesting papers in my mother's cupboard.

I really like this recycled paper.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page