top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

CBD | P5 | Ex 2: Planning your workflow

However you plan to work in the production of your book, spend some time now planning your workflow, using the notes above as a guide.


Think about how much flexibility you can allow yourself – don’t put yourself under too much pressure. At the same time, be aware of time constraints that may be outside your control. If you’re using a local printer, for example, make contact as soon as possible. Your printer may have a limited timeframe for doing your job and you’ll need to factor this into your workflow.


 

Before I start planning, even though I did this process in the past, I want to make sure I don't forget any part of the way.

So, I copied and pasted the stages and their information from the OCA booklet guide, for each step of the way (marked in orange-red, while my plan marked in black).


Workflow phases

● Phase 1: Scoping

Timeframe and planning: what needs to be done, how it needs to be done.


Scoping

You’ve been through a process of ideas generation, determined a topic and

established the subject area you’re going to pursue. Now follows a period of

‘scoping’ – working out what needs to be done, and how it is going to be put into

action within a particular timeframe. It may help to allow yourself a set amount

of time for each section of the process.


So, basically right now I am at this stage. My aim at this exercise is to make a solid plan with timeframes, so I work according to my deadline. The is a deadline for me as well, as my course is going to finish on the 14th of July, therefore I have to work extra hard and fast to ensure I deliver this assignment on time.

I am confident in my skills and my experience so far it is possible.


Determining output

Right at the beginning you need to decide how you are going to output this book.

Are you interested in traditional approaches, or digital? Are you going to work in

a very ‘hands-on’ way, printing and binding the pages yourself, or are you going

to work with a digital print-on-demand company, such as blurb.com, working

digitally and uploading your files so that they can manage printing and binding?

Whichever route you choose determines the appropriate and relevant

pre-production working process.


For this assignment, I am hoping to use my own idea, as the assignment is offering “...Use the following options to as a starting point or alternatively identify your own project….”.

I have emailed my tutor and asked if I can create my own photography book showcasing my film photography from around the world. I think it can be really cool!

Photography art books are probably one of my favourite genre of books and it would be a dream to create such a book with my film photography.

As I have already worked manually on part 4, I would like this time to make it really professional and have it printed and bound by a professional high quality print house.



● Phase 2: Creating content

Researching subject area. Writing material. Editing text. Sourcing and /or

creating images.


Research and development

You’ll need to employ research skills in many aspects of the pre-production

process, both in relation to the content of the book and the production methods

you are going to use. For example, once you have decided on the output/print

production route you’re going to take, you need to consider what software or

hardware you need. Do you have it already, do you know how to use it or do you

need to factor in time to get to grips with new processes? If you are using a

printer, have you established what format the printer accepts for digital artwork?

Have you looked into the formats and sizes of book available and the costs?

Regarding the text and image content of the book, what do you need to do in

order to find out more about the topic you have chosen? Where will you source

material?


Creating text and images

Original artwork or someone else’s images? Creating your own artwork –

photographs, illustrations or paintings – avoids the issue of seeking picture

permissions, but make sure you credit your own work! Use the copyright symbol

©, your name and date for crediting your own work. Refer to section 5 copyright,

of the course ‘An Introduction to Studying in HE’, when using the work of others.

You will find the guidance of how to approach copyright. As a student you’re

entitled to use images – from Bridgeman and Oxford Art Libraries for example –

if they are purely for educational use.

Prepare your images using photo editing software. Check brightness and

contrast, size and resolution. Remember images have to be of a decent

resolution – work with 300dpi if you can. Digital print-on-demand services will

often not accept low-resolution images, so make sure you are aware of their

guidelines and recommendations regarding digital image files. Save images as

CMYK.

File and store text and images in an organised and careful manner, making sure

you backup your work regularly.


Research about photography books will take me probably a full day, including an online search and an art book store visit.

I am planning to use my own photography which means I will have to go through my film archive and choose images. My favourite thing about film is that is usually need the least amount of photo corrections the grain is the most beautiful coating and the colours of a good film such as Kodak Portra 400 or Kodak gold are just divine. In that case I'm assuming I won't need too many photo corrections, but it will be good to double check and give this some time. If I need to work on the images I have both Adobe Photoshop and Lightroom.

I assume a day - 1.5 days for the research phase will be enough.



● Phase 3: Design

Page set-up, page layout, choosing typeface, inputting and arranging text

and image elements.


Sample page

Create thumbnail sketches – both drawings and on computer – which show

design ideas for the book’s pages and the cover design. Create a sample

double-page spread of the book’s proposed layout, with some of the text and

images worked in. Experiment with different design options. Determine the

typeface and formatting of the text. Evaluate the sample spread with a broad

overview. How does it look? Make any changes and alterations needed.


Page layout

Flatplan the book before constructing pages in DTP software (if you’re taking the

digital route). Lay out the pages into the grid structure (if you’re using one). Work

in the text and import images.


The whole process of design I assume will take me 2 full days. I am already pretty experienced with book design and I love it, so I am giving myself even extra time here for mistakes or what I like to call "rabbit holes" when a designer just spends way too long on a 'dot' or a 'coma'...



● Phase 4: Pre-production

Preparing for print. Saving and storing. Backing up all work. Printing

proofs, checking pages, inputting corrections.


Proofing

Make a printout of the whole book using your desktop printer. Examine it

carefully for any mistakes and errors. Are text and image boxes in the correct

positions? Are the folios showing? Make corrections and alterations and reprint

the pages until they are absolutely correct.


I will dedicate about half a day max for this stage, giving myself enough flexibility to fix any mistakes.


● Phase 5: Printing and production

Instructing, liaising and sending to printer


Print preparation

Collect all artwork files ready to send/upload to the printer. Ensure you have all

images in place and double check all pages once again, making sure you haven’t

omitted anything. When you are ready, send your work.


I am already planning to visit the print house way in advance to choose the paper, and cover, so it will be easy to just send off once my book is ready, and just come to collect.



 
Re planning my workflow.

After visiting the print house, I've realised sourcing the binding of the book will take longer than expected (I thought the print house will just do it for me when they print and it is all machinery). They told me there is a famous book binder in Tel Aviv and he is definitely the best but he is very busy and therefore I can try my luck with him, but for the short time frame I have it might not work.

I had to change my plans, and start working on the book as soon as possible.

I had no time to waste, and I was still on the assignment of Part 4, but I was determined to make it on time for my due date.

I decided to start my research as soo as I finish Part 4 and get to work on my layouts once I feel confident.


My sister and her partner knew about this book binder and said he is very pricey and also very not friendly, which was just the last push for me to decide I'm binding the book myself, by hand, hand sewn, hard cover linen.

I knew the timeframe was very tight but I like to challenge myself and I was happy to get this final push as I wanted to try and make a hard cover book myself.

I made a plan for my time frame, as I mentioned, it is tight, but I am very positive it will work.

I was lucky to have my father on board with me to do the hand binding part, he is an artist and have so much materials and tools at home which can make everything a lot easier. Plus, he's a perfectionist, like myself, so I know the end product will be beautiful.


Friday & Saturday - Research, online, visit book stores, get the idea, understand what I can manifest with the time and resources I have. Brain storm, solve problems.

Saturday & Sunday - Select and gather images, create layouts and grids.

Monday - make sure the design is finished and be at the print shop at 9am when they open (that way I know they are not busy and I can consult with them about everything before printing). Get all materials I need for the book cover etc, sew the pages. Design the cover.

Tuesday - Get all materials left, print the cover design, make the cover.

Wednesday & Thursday - write and show my process + extra time if something goes wrong.





5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page