top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

CBD | P5 | Research task 1: Book Fairs

The list below is showing a range of art book fairs, both independent publishers and independent designers and artists. Research the book fairs online and explore the wide range of books by independent publishers, to gain a better understanding of the variety of books and publishing possibilities. You might want to visit one of the fairs in the future and explore the books.



 

I took my time to explore some of these wonderful art book fairs, and also it lead me to check out what is happening in my homeland as I am currently visiting home (Israel). Unfortunately I just missed a really cool art book fair here in the museum of Tel Aviv, and the next fairs are only in the beginning of next year...


Through the links of Art Fair London and Small Publishing Fairs I decided to explore the different publishers and books. I was surprised to see how many publishing houses are there!


Here are some books and publishing houses I really liked.


Publishing house: Ambeck Design

Such a great publishing house with so many interesting out of the ordinary books!


I really like this book, it is so cleaver how you can see the text "now you see me" if you bend the book one way and "now you don't" if you bend it the other way.



I love the idea of using Danish paper bin bag from Thisted council, as the cover. So cleaver and special.

Also, every book has a different cover as it made by different parts of the bags. very unique.



This is really cool, I love the fact it looks like a parcel or letters. so special!

And I love the red private folded paper as well. so smart. the typography is really cool too.





Publishing House: Antic-Ham

This publishing house is so cool, I love the fact they have a whole section of screen printed books! So special!


This book is really beautiful, I like how they use the peices of letters collaged into the book and also the hand sewing.




I like the colours and the accordion kind of binding. also the drawing are so cute.



I am obsessed with old posters. I have this from my Mother and Father as we used to travel through Europe every year and find all these cool antiques and antique posters and buy some home. I love the use of the screen printing here and the old-school feel as well as the accordion fold.


Book: "Sweeties"

I love the colours and the layers of print, it gives it such an exotic feeling.


Such a beautiful simple Japanese style.





Publishing House: Book Room

I love the cover, and how it spreads over the back and front. it seems almost as the name of the book is just "Book -Live!" but when opening the facing back and front cover you see the full name. very cleaver!





Publishing House: Coracle

I love the old school pattern book cover style + the rectangle with the title. reminds me of very old books.


I love the simplicity. a yellow linen covered book with just the name of the title pressed in, so simple and so beautiful and calm.




Publishing House: Cafe Royal Books

I love how this publishing house is dedicated to zines. they all look very neat and pretty, very minimalistic, a lot of black and white.


Zine: Rachel Megawhat — Imperial Gardens London 1990s

I love how this zine brings you to the 90's in London in such a great way. I feel as the photography is drawing me there.



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page