top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

2.5 Exercise: Point of sale display

Updated: Jan 16, 2021

What am I being asked to do?

Design a point of display for a local green grocer. 2 different ones one of veg one of fruits. both needs to be A1 size. I need to attract passers from the street into the shop. will be displayed inside the shop window.


What are the Keywords for the design

clear

dynamic

wording - Organic, Fresh, Local, Yummy, Healthy


Who are the Target audience

Local neighbours, usually parents (and kids) driving back and forth to school, they are probably well off. Some of them come to get their fresh baked goods or go to get their daily newspaper or buy shoes. They are stuck in their life routine and they dream about a vacation.


What message do I want to pass

I want to drag my audience attention and to do so I am aiming to give them a little teaser of tropical destinations by tropical fruits. More then that, families mostly want to get and give their children a feeling of wellbeing and health.


Must Include

A1 size.

take photographs or create illustrations or both. one A1 for fruit and one A1 for vegetables.

For each, using an individual piece of fruit/ veg. dissected or partly sliced sections, or create a group of several pieces.


Primary Research

  • What are the dimensions of A1

  • I don’t know what is point of sales display and what should I include in it

  • check POSD ideas and problem solving in general and for fruit and vegetables in particular.

  • Look for inspiration


Secondary Research

  • What are the dimensions of A1

594 x 841


- what is point of sales display and what should I include in it

I’ve research about point of sales display and what is essential in order to make it work. First I understood exactly what it is and what is the aim of it, to attract customers into buying the product - mostly near the checkout point, or attract them into a special offering. mostly, it is a way to “shout out” your products into the customers face.

I read about POS display essentials and out of them I marked for this exercise the following -

bold and command attention

call to action

personalise

(For instance, I didn’t think having a coupon or making it interactive is appropriate for this exercise).



  • check POSD ideas and problem solving in general and for fruit and vegetables in particular.

I searched online for POSD in general and fruits and vegetables in praticular, and found a lot of different designs and aaproches here is my board on pinterest -


Then I started brain storming and developing ideas.

I started going through my food photos since I'm a big foodie. I am a very big Smoothie bowl and fruit lover so I thought maybe to use a smoothie bowl or fruit platter




For me when I was thinking about fruits and vegetables, especially as a dietitian daughter I remember this vintage posters we have in my parents house of fruits and vegetables - and then it drifted me to look into vintage posters. I went on and on and somehow found all these posters for tropical destinations, most of them included beautiful women and tropical fruits. Like Eve from the heavens. I knew I had an idea in hand.




I couldn’t use a poster or element that I didn’t draw or pictured as the brief said, and also I thought it wouldn’t be bold enough to have an old poster from the outside of the street. So I started thinking with my mind map and keywords how can I use my food photography in order to tempt people to come in and buy the “prohibited fruit” something mystic or something thet gives them a feeling of far away places and also wellbeing.


In my mind, Pineapple was quite obvious for the fruits and pumpkin for the vegetables . Pineapple grows in the tropics and gives a sense of vacation, deserted places and tropical weather, Pumpkin is one of my favourite vegetables. It is comforting, warming and so delicious, not to mention pretty.

for the background I decided to use white wood. wood gives a sense of nature, and white gives a sense of wellbeing.



I started sketching and I decided to use the words “Healthy” in the vegetables design and “Paradise” in the fruit one. in such a way that they would be one next to the other - “Healthy Paradise”. Then in order to personalise I added “Your” - as “Your Healthy Paradise”, and call to action “get it here!” to invite people in - in order to “get their healthy paradise”.



In case of food photography I’m lucky to have some experience and I jumped straight away into the job while I was making my daily muesli. The lighting was quite perfect and I already have my set up and the best place to shoot food.

This is my overall Food Photography inspo board, I added some ideas and went through the whole board to get some ideas-



I took several photos, started with the pineapple alone as a whole, then added mango and coconut. then tried another version when the pineapple and mango are cut and added half a dragon fruit which was a bit eaten (as the “prohibited eaten fruit”). I tried different frames. Then I places the pumpkin and shot them too.



I open the files first on Photoshop Raw, to pick and edit the photos. The lighting was quite perfect to I didn’t have to do much.

I open my favourite photo and started to play around as a draft and rough design.

Then I started all over again when I was happy with the Idea.

When I was finished I sent it for a review to my family and boyfriend. My mother said the word “Healthy” is not clear enough and I rearranged the letters in a way which will be more readable, and also made the background in both photos slightly darker so its easier to read the white letters.







as always I kept it all in an organised folder. named with versions and numbers. and made an export in PNG and JPG (only so it’s easy with resolution to upload it into the learning log).

If I was to send it to a printer I would have transferred it into indesign so I can make it ready for print with bleed and print marks.






 

REFLECTION

This exercise was pure fun!

I really enjoyed preparing my own imagry and photos followed by some creative typograpy work and learning more skills such as how to place the text under the fruits.


9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page