top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

CBD | P1 | Research task: Artists’ books and fanzines

Updated: Jan 23, 2022

Browse the American based Smithsonian Libraries’ Artist Book archive to identify books that you find interesting or questions the notion of the book in some way. https://library.si.edu/collection/artists-books Explore fanzines in more depth by reading Teal Trigg’s chapter Definitions and early days (pages 6–43) from her book Fanzines: A do-it-yourself revolution (2010). This chapter is available as a course resource on the student site. Document visual examples of work you find interesting with annotations in your learning log. You’ll be using some of this research in your first assignment.


 


Here are few google searches I did while reading the chapter of the book mentioned above.

I was curious to see some of the zines she have mentioned and also my imagination and curiosity took me away to explore Israeli zines (as I am Israeli and never really came across them in my home town), and go further into interesting videos on The Westport Library's website about their activism through art and zines.




I really liked the description here of Kathleen Hannah on the differences between zines and blogging.




Rockgrl zine (1995-2005)





Israeli Zine


Mojo Navigator

I think this is my favourite zine so far. I love the typography and the psychedelic estethics, while many other zines are more grunge/ punk looking and having a messy look, this one gives a rebel look but still maintaining an organised and neat look.

some interesting links I came across

Mojo-Navigator Rock & Roll News on zinewiki (which sent me to explore ZineWiki, I loved the fact wikipedia has a whole section about zines)



Some screenshots from Teal Trigg’s chapter Definitions and early days from her book Fanzines: A do-it-yourself revolution (2010)




2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

CBD | P5 | Ex 5: Reflective practice

Begin by reflecting upon the sorts of projects, exercises and assignments you have enjoyed most: ● Do you enjoy the creative freedom of working with your own text and images from scratch, or do you pr

bottom of page