top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

REFLECTION ON AS1

In this assignment, I've learned how to focus on family-type work. being cohesive and using the same elements in different ways to show there is a story and that all parts of the story work together as a whole.


Starting this first ever project of this degree was somewhat quite intimidating.

Not as for my creative ideas, but more of "what am I expected to do".

In therms of "presentation" This was probably the only problem I had, and it was a good lesson for me.


I had a quick idea of what I will show on this project, I was asked to design a series of postcards that says something about myself and my interests as a way of introducing myself.

Mostly, when I get into a project, I have it all kind of going on and figured out inside my head, and my challenge is to really put the process into paper (words, draft, brainstorming etc).

So basically I jumped head first into making my idea.

I showed ,y process but I didn't know back then how much more I need to show or practically "how" I need to present my process.


I knew exactly how I want to present it, I was woking on the same "colour scheme" and theme with the pictures and with the text and coffee stains, considering the front and the back to have a visual invitation to find more on the back.

I have also combined some tribal patterns by hand to show my connection for tribes and ethnic groups.


I was offered by my tutor to present:

- A range of initial thumbnail designs

- A range of initial typeface explorations

- Different layouts

- different paper / card

- different print finishing techniques


I am quite happy for now with my final project so I wont go back to explore different styles etc, but I have defiantly leant how to work from now on!



0 views0 comments
bottom of page