top of page
  • Writer's pictureAmber Houbara

Research point - Vernacular Typography

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

Research point Vernacular typography can be very well crafted but it can also be crudely created signs done in a hurry. Either way it is using typography and lettering to create visual communications. Take a look around you and identify some vernacular typography that you find interesting. Document it through drawing, photography or by collecting examples. Remember to ask permission if you are photographing inside train stations, markets, shops, museums or shopping centres for example. Getting permission is usually straightforward, especially when people know you are working on a student project. In your learning log note down why you selected the examples you did.

 

I have started my research with a little look online, I could see on my first find this really cool project-

I really liked the way they have been documenting such cool Vernacular typography from all over the world.

It made me wonder how many Vernacular typographies I probably have on my phone alone from traveling around the world and taking pictures!

So I went on a little stroll on my iphone and dropbox and have found some interesting images.

(especially now when the whole world is on isolation due to Covid-19...)


Melbourne 2020

I have just been to Melbourne and this city is just a gem of Vernacular Typography!

here are few images from this trip -



I rembembered that 6 years ago, in 2014 I was in Melbourne as well, and I was just in love with everything that I have seen there, so here is few images of Vernacular Typography from Melbourne 2014.

Melbourne 2014 Vernacular typography




This has opened whole new fun research for me - which was digging into my travels and my iPhone photography and checking how was I impressed with Vernacular typography and how can I re-look at it now!

I was such fun research and I could probably go forever, but I have picked few locations that I truly love and knew I will find some gems.



Mexico



Berlin



Cuba



Japan


9 views0 comments
bottom of page